READ… Woman #1’s secret to a long marriage

Wedding rings
      She was a young woman, though not so young as to be naive but young enough to not have most of her stuff figured out. She was at an age where she felt she knew herself pretty well, she could read her body’s signals, she could read between the lines, she had learned not to take things personally but from where they came. By now, she even dared to say she loved herself and embraced her faults as much as her assets. Still there was much to learn about everything around her, and this time, she was on a quest to find answers specifically about marriage longevity.
       She decided to apply her children’s technique and ask questions because that’s the direct path to getting answers, silent  observation only gave so much. She made a mental list of whom to ask. These women were in many ways like most of us: they have a lovely houses with gardens and a multi-car garage, a bedroom for each child, a kitchen big enough to make the mess that leads to wonderful family meals, a family room cozy enough to embrace family and friends over a great movie or game, a main bedroom with a bed for two or for four, even 5 if you count the family pet, enough restrooms to take care of simultaneous emergencies… Just like most of us have. However, unlike many of us, these women had been married over 20 years. These were her fountain of unadulterated information.
      One morning she walked up a lovely path to a huge, immense front door and knocked. A lady in uniform opened and let her in as she discreetly called woman#1. And thier conversation began…
Hello my dear, I’m really excited to have you here, I rarely have visitors, in fact it is I who go around making house calls to my friends.
Thanks for agreeing to talk to me about such a personal matter, I promise not to pry and you can go as deep in detail as you feel comfortable.
Ask away, I am as open as the gap in my husband’s two front teeth…
You’ve got a beautiful home…
Thanks…
Did you do all this yourself?
Honey, of course, I’ve got the money and the good taste to do it…
Good taste I have no doubt, but… your husband has to qualms about you “investing” so much in your home’s decor?
Sweetheart, I’ve earned my right to use his money as I please, for example, let me show you my closet…
She said as she guided her up an incredibly glamorous staircase…down an art filled hall and into their bedroom, a huge bedroom, and into her walk-in closet…. The rows of shoes, in boxes, with tags still on, some used, some in piles ready to be handed down to the help…
I earned all this honey, my complacency gave me the unquestionable right to have all this, I work hard for it…
Oh, I’m sorry, am I keeping you from going to work?
Not at all, you came at the perfect moment, 11 to 4  is happy hour, my work starts at 5 in the evening when the husband gets home and ends at 10 am when he leaves for work… Forgive my rudeness, can I offer you a cocktail? Or maybe you are too young to drink!
Laughs,
Not at all, but I’ll have to decline, you see I’m on a mission and I don’t want to lose my momentum… thanks for the compliment!
More laughs as she showed her the collection and recounted an anecdote of what she had to do to get that pair of shoes or that handbag…
This is more than you can wear in your lifetime, you have a huge collection, does your husband complain at all?
Oh no, sweetheart! He likes abundance, everything in huge quantitiesand sizes, that’s how I got my boobs, HUGE just like he likes them…
I noticed huge when I walked up to your front door…
That door , honey, was specially made to fit his ego…
Between giggles and anecdotes shared 2 hours flew by…

On that note, she felt it was time to leave. She thanked her again as they walked down the stairs and complimented her on her original pieces of art.

Your door does make me feel quite small and insignificant…
she mentioned as they approached the  entrance.
You can say that again honey, you know what, im taking you to my personal entry…
and she guided her outside through a perfectly manicured garden and down a beautiful, fairy-tale like path with ivy and flowering trellises defining it, walking slowly, as if time had stopped at the beginning of the path towards a beautiful verdigris finish wood and ironwork gate,
This is my sacred place, I come and sit right at that bench to enjoy my cocktails, to listen to the hummingbirds that remind me I am surrounded by love and to consider taking up gardening…
That would be fabulous and they say having your hands deep in soil is quite energizing… By the way, how long have you been married?
We’re having our 30th anniversary in two days. I bought us a great package to spend a week at a fabulous spa, but guess what? He’s not coming, im going alone and that’s ok…
OK! I do hope you enjoy your days at the spa and may this trip be restful and rejuvenating…
Oh no, not rejuvenating, if I get any younger I won’t be able to buy my own booze and then what will I do at happy hour?
Maybe some gardening, she offered…
Sure sweetness…anyway, loved having you here and you’ll have to come back and help me sort through my pictures and this time you will have a drink with me!
Smiles, hugs and air kisses…Farewell Woman #1
sigh… she left speechless, realizing she never even asked the question and still got a very clear answer… she got in her car and checked Woman #2’s address… she lived nearby, though she was not sure she was emotionally up for it today…
xo people

2 responses to “READ… Woman #1’s secret to a long marriage

  1. I wrote it in my head last night as I was kept awake by the hubby’s snoring, 😳 i was lucky to remember it today… Thank you my dear and always encouraging friend! Woman #2 is almost ready 😅 stay tuned, big hug Teecee

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

