THINK…about my name

A-LEK-SAN-DRA…or

alexandra

ALEXANDRA

I didn’t always like my name…but maybe this happens to everyone…when you wish you had a sweeter sounding name, the name of the superstar of the moment, or even just some another name…

When I was a little girl, I felt my name sounded harsh and that it made me seem harsh…I felt it misrepresented me…

I’d wonder how I ever learned to spell it, in fact, there was a period when I’d spell it with a ‘j’ instead of an ‘x’, very rebellious of me… then it took me another while longer to accept that my name is pronounced with the X sound.

Much like my country, which is spelled M-E-X-I-C-O but is pronounced with a J sound, or what would be like an H in happy, you know, the exhale sound… in fact, throughout history, my country’s name was spelled M-E-J-I-C-O…

So I did that with my name until I found out that I could complicate things but not having my schoolwork correspond to my birth certificate and all those official papers with my true name on them…

I went back to ALEXANDRA, with an X, but kept saying it with the J (H) sound, which as someone once told me, ALEJANDRA with a J is the ITALIAN version of my name… Hhhmmm (raised eyebrow)

So I asked my mom, “where did you get my name from? why with the X?”

Alexandra

I can’t remember if she told me this story or if my grandmother did (love you Mami in heaven!!) but apparently my mom had visited Russia a short time before being pregnant and fell in love with the culture and history and my name came from that admiration… Nicholas and Alexandra (The Last Imperial Family of Tsarist Russia)

Of course, who wouldn’t love their name after hearing this and reading more on it!!

and learned this, too: Etymologically, the name is a compound of the Greek verb ἀλέξειν (alexein) “to defend” and the noun ἀνδρός (andros), genitive of ἀνήρ(anēr) “man”. Thus it may be roughly translated as “defender of man” or “protector of man”. The name was one of the titles (“epithets”) given to the Greek goddess Hera and as such is usually taken to mean “one who comes to save warriors”.

It wasn’t until now, being an adult, living in México City that people would say my name as it is written, with the “soda pop, soda pop, X, X, X” sound

It was quite a novelty for me, almost no one had ever acknowledged the X in it!

It sounded good… different… lively… like me… the harshness had disappeared or

I HAD GROWN INTO MY NAME!!

Someone told me, when I was pregnant with my daughter that the name we give our children will define them and will set their path in life… that got me thinking…and asking myself, “what path had my name, to big for a little girl, set me on?” I still don’t know…but I had quite a task on my hands deciding what my children’s names would be… and decided to go with versions of names as close as possible to their roots…happily and proudly my husband and I named our daughter SOFIA which means WISDOM and my son PABLO, a latin name meaning SMALL, he is my youngest and named after Pope John Paul II (my son believes he will be a saint some day, so the name thing is working :)…my daughter, well, up to now, I’ll let her academic achievements speak for themselves and life will put her calling to the test)

So thanks Mom and Dad for my name, I love it and hope I can reach the potential it has set for me🙂

Hugs people!!

btw, fun prompt WP thanks

 

 

13 responses to “THINK…about my name

  1. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me·

  2. aaajajajaaa…I have fallen short of my life calling, although I DO WORRY ABOUT HUMANKIND, does that count? or maybe I’m doing a bit of my part through my students…and I’ll leave the rest to the strongest of the Alexanders out there!! so nice to read you Karen… big hug🙂

  3. Sorry, I’m late in catching up with blog posts. I named my oldest son Alexander, so you can imagine how much I like your name! I chose that name for him because I thought he would be a defender of humankind, just like you!🙂

  4. Here in Mexico, Alex is short for the male version of my name most of the times, so I am Ale, and the principal at school is also Ale and I’ve got 5 students Ale and not one Alex…jajajaaa apparently Alexandra was again popular 15 years ago with this new generation of teens… Hi, Alex and Alex from Germany, I’m Ale from Mexico🙂 big hug Frizz, thanks

  5. I know a German couple and their names: Alexandra and Alexander, but they (since childhood) were called ALEX by family and friends in school. So we also have to say ALEX – and both are looking to you …

  6. It is my favorite name because of you and because of my friend Alex. I love it and it totally suits you, now that I know the background. Besos.

  7. 🙂 that’s the thing, growing up that was the only Alexander I knew (not personally, jajajajaaa…I’m not thaaaat old) you can imagine it not being a fitting role model for a girl🙂

  8. YES, I needed something to relate it with and I got this story!! Plus having no one in my family as a namesake made me feel a bit like an outsider, of course, now I know I should have felt special even without “the story”, so I told my children the significance of their names as soon as they understood, now they “wear” them proudly🙂 big hug my friend

  9. Pingback: Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe! | Bastet and Sekhmet·

  10. Pingback: I Am Ramisa | Ramisa the Authoress·

  11. It’s a beautiful name. Odd how our perception changes things.🙂

  12. It is funny…I have always liked your name (with X)…May be because when I was a chil I was absolutely in love with Alexander (with X) the Great!!!) …

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

