REACT…to SYMMETRY in a space

HAPHAZARD and ROUTINE, two words that take turns running my life.

Recently I’ve come to appreciate both their existence… I read somewhere that it’s all the BAD in the world which makes GOOD, BETTER…

So, a time out from all the ROUTINE in our lives makes RANDOM, HAPHAZARD activities, BETTER…. but, there comes a moment when routine is a welcome companion. Rountine gives us a breather from the UNEXPECTED…

My first semester back at work has just concluded with a presentation of all the afterschool workshops, my Creativity Workshop being one of them.

Before starting classes I had been craving the routine work and school would mean after months of EXPECTING THE UNEXPECTED with my move from Mexico City and my furniture not arriving then trying to put my house back together again.  But as the end of the semester approached, I felt I needed a break from HAVING MY DAY COMPLETELY PLANNED OUT BEFORE HAND. I wanted to wake up and think: OK, after making some delicious coffee and truly enjoying it while catching up on my favorite blogs, WHAT WILL I DO?…

Today is my first day of THIS! (in fact, I think our lovely Bonnie- pet schnauzer- was also patiently awaiting this, because she hasn’t come out from under the covers yet)

As usual, one THOUGHT lead to another and I got to thinking about a more CONCRETE form of ROUTINE present in our surroundings: SYMMETRY…

I had been collecting some images for a while now because SYMMETRY in a room, specially when photograph with the full intent of emphasizing it, can have a huge impact…

COCOCOZY (a fresh, creative, inspiring design blog I follow) explained SYMMETRY some time ago as EASY ON THE EYES, just as routine can be easy on the nerves, jejejje!

Here’s part of the collection for you…

SYMMETRY

but…

it can be overwhelming! and in decor just as in life…we need a bit of SERENDIPITY, fortuity, unexpectedness!

GALLERY WALL

or

COLLECTIONS

…among other strategies. This “haphazard” decor style also takes a lot of planning, even asymmetry takes thought, maybe even more, because the feeling or mood you’re trying to achieve is the same but with a different APPROACH…

Above everything else, the idea is to feel comfortable and to make the space yours…

SYMMETRY LINKS

SOFA INFRONT OF BED http://indulgy.com/post/p6im74fGD1/sofa-in-front-of-bed

GEOMETRICAL B&W RUG http://eclecchic.blogspot.mx/2012/10/en-torno-un-patio.html

YELLOW & CHERRY CUSHIONS http://tuckandcover.blogspot.mx/

GALLERY WALL LINK

COLLECTIONS LINKS

SCULPTURES http://bluevintagedeco.blogspot.mx/2012_01_01_archive.html

POTTERY http://www.younghouselove.com/2011/08/pics-pixels/  

So, what’s your attitude in life and in decor?

I’m both…🙂

Hugs people!!!

btw, featured image and definition background from www.beautifulbluebrides.com

2 responses to “REACT…to SYMMETRY in a space

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

