REACT…I finished The Happiness Project

…and I have been asking myself: WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO with everything you learned, discovered about yourself, underlined once or twice, circled, marked with one or more asterisks, wrote on the margins, on the first and last pages, inside the covers…?

My copy of The Happiness Project has been subjected to unrestricted vandalism and graffiti by my constant reaction and need to discuss having no one to do it with (my mom’s slowly going through it, when she gets home from work obviously she prefers to watch some TV, and give her noggin a break)

I have mentioned some bits of it in a couple of posts, but believe me, my notes give for at least a dozen posts (don’t worry, I’ll dosify them so they don’t overwhelm you!)

So now, as I finish the book I reflect on it as a whole…as you know, this book is like a journal that was written in the year Gretchen Rubin decided to question how happy she was and to see if she could be happier. She divided the book into 12 chapters for each month of the year. Each month she worked on an attitude or aspect of her life she wanted to enhance, correct, overcome…and to do that she made up some phrases that would act as resolutions to guide her on her way to her monthly goal. These phrases became very important to her because they broke down into smaller, achievable goals her  major monthly goal, they also took a MANTRA-like significance in her life.

“The phrases                                                        

LIGHTEN UP,

GIVE PROOFS OF LOVE,

and CUT PEOPLE SOME SLACK

flashed through my consciousness  constantly,

and I often changed my actions in consequence.”

quote taken from page 287 in The Happiness Project

Of course this got me thinking, because I knew I had some phrases that I constantly repeated to myself and that, as with the author, made me reconsider my actions or attitudes and correct then in consequence…and as I put together my list (on the margins of the page) I also decided to add some that I had realized I needed to start saying to myself…

Here’s my list…

DON’T EXPECT TO GET WHAT YOU GIVE

RESPECT HAS DIFFERENT MEANINGS FOR DIFFERENT PEOPLE, AND SO DO TOLERANCE AND ACCEPTANCE, FOR THAT MATTER…

GIVE THE UNLIKELY A CHANCE, ENJOY SURPRISES

MAKE A POSITIVE COMMENT, THERE’S ALWAYS SOMETHING POSITIVE TO SAY

DON’T IMPOSE AN OPINION- BE CLEAR IN SAYING THAT IT’S YOUR VERY PERSONAL POINT OF VIEW

START, FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE

STOP WHEN THAT VOICE INSIDE YOUR HEAD SAYS SO

SPEAK, DON’T HOLD IT IN, SOMEONE IS LISTENING AND SOMEONE WILL UNDERSTAND (the same goes for WRITE!)

YOU DECIDE HOW HIGH OR HOW LOW TO SET YOUR EXPECTATIONS, JUST BE REAL AND FAIR TO YOURSELF

WRITE IT DOWN AND GIVE YOUR NERVES A BREAK

and this one’s from Gretchen Rubin: THE DAYS ARE LONG BUT THE YEARS ARE SHORT

right now I am just copying from my book but I remember the excitement I felt when I first started to put together my list

I think I’m going to make myself a cheat sheet and have it handy always as my soul’s first aid kit!

How about you, do you have a phrase or a list that helps you get through those tough or awkward moments in life?

Hugs people!!

4 responses to “REACT…I finished The Happiness Project

  1. Hey, that’s so good to hear…then as soon as my life get’s off this crazy train and i get a chance to write up another post on it, I hope to hear from you, I’d love to hear your thoughts…

  2. I actually read this book early last year and I loved it. I have a ton of stuff highlighted from it on my Kindle and I’ve been meaning to read it again so that I can review it. That, and because it really does make you think about things and inspires you to make some positive changes in your life 🙂

  3. Have you read the book? I don’t know how relevant it would be in a young (like yourself) woman’s life…however, you are a good reader and give (from what I’ve read in your posts) every book the same chance to trap you…this is a very good book if you like to read and learn from other’s experiences…it gets you thinking and evaluating yourself in order to make the changes necessary or, if no change is needed, TO FEEL GOOD ABOUT YOURSELF!!
    Oh YES! BE REAL AND BE FAIR specially to YOURSELF…we can be our own worst critic…this is a good one to have in mind! big hug to you 🙂 read you soon and THANKS again!!!

  4. I particularly liked GIVE THE UNLIKELY A CHANCE, ENJOY SURPRISES and YOU DECIDE HOW HIGH OR HOW LOW TO SET YOUR EXPECTATIONS, JUST BE REAL AND FAIR TO YOURSELF from your list. I think I could use to work on the latter myself 🙂

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

