THINK… there are times…

…when you have to keep pedaling so that the wheel keeps moving…

and then there are other times

when all you have to do is SET THE WHEEL IN MOTION,

sit back and watch it roll

Three fabulous things happened this morning that can fall into one or the other situation, depending on the perspective

I have no idea which happened first so the order is of no relevance to the importance nor to the impact it has on me and my overjoyous heart:

-my blog reached 10,000 visitors

-I won a book which I know will be a wonderful read

-My classmates from Oil Painting class had a secret bon voyage brunch planned in my honor

My heart is thumping and my head is spinning…

HOW DID I GET SO LUCKY?!

I don’t mind if this is a once in a life time deal…

I’m overwhelmed with joy and love and expectation

this morning before I left for my class I checked my stats and thought, “Hey any day now A.R.T. will have been viewed by 10,000 people, how are you going to celebrate? how are you going to show your appreciation? You could give away something! but what? a painting? and to whom (is it who or whom, if the answer is HIM, then it’s WHOM, does the rule go like this?) to the 10,000 visitor? How will I know who the 10,000 visitor is? I’m not a store. There’s no front door through which the lucky person will pass and a loud cheer will be heard: you are our 10,000 visitor, yaaaaay! Besides, I’m not sure that is a fair perception of things, I’m not celebrating THE NUMBER, I’m celebrating the JOURNEY towards the number, making every single one of the visitors important, every one of your visits is a stepping stone in that path…

I set the wheel in motion and YOU kept it moving towards one initial and unplanned GOAL…THANK YOU

I left for my class with a powerpoint presentation ready to tie up any loose ends…I got there and there was a beautiful flower bouquet on the table and some food platters, hhhmmm, I thought, I hope I didn’t miss the FB message that asked us to bring something for the get together…SURPRISE, it was for me, they were throwing me a going away party…Something strange happened, one of my classmates asked me to say a few words and I couldn’t! Let me rephrase, I didn’t even try… I have been feeling so overcome with mixed feelings over my return home, leaving my class, going back to my real life with work both at home and at school, my husband staying here for a few months…I felt that I would break into pieces… so I asked them to please accept my words in written form…and they did… These women are incredible… Up to now I had always bashed the concept of FEMALE SOLIDARITY, I’d prefer to call it empathy or even sympathy but not solidarity. My experience had been that when women were together, they were together to one up each other and to leave feeling envious of the ‘friend’… But this group of women showed me that there can be SOLIDARITY among us that would turn into true FRIENDSHIP and be elevated to ADMIRATION… THANK YOU mis chavas del Helénico!!

When class ended and we all hugged as if there was no tomorrow I got in my car and headed for my children’s school…during the wait I checked my email and found

I had entered a giveaway for a book on phdincreativewriting.wordpress.com (one of the blogs I follow)…I left a comment, as the authors of other blogs I follow know I like to do when the text captures me and gets me thinking… AND I WON one of the autographed copies …aaaaaah!!! pure luck people and the true desire to start reading essays and shortstories

Here is a description taken from  www.boaeditions.org where you can buy the book…

“Using a spare, image-laden prose style, Germanacos’ focuses on discrete, telling moments to create fast-paced stories that pack a powerful punch. This is not your standard short story collection – it is an innovative work of literary prose as brilliant, concise, and potent as bolt of lightning.”

You can find a very inspiring interview of Anne Germanacos on Kelcey Parker’s blog (the host of the giveaway) as part of her series How to Become a Writer

Thank you Kelcey!!! Thank you lucky stars!!

WHAT A DAY!!

and so tomorrow’s another day, though this one I’ll forever replay…a day that I’ll end with my sister and her children here for a much awaited visit…The best is yet to come (as they say)

hugs people, read you soon

Thank you God for an unforgettable day and everything that made it turn out that way!!

additional info: beach photograph from ART.COM

10 responses to “THINK… there are times…

  1. Ale, you were born lucky! 🙂 Let yourself be loved by your readers!! Me encanta tener el honor de ser tu amiga.. love you friend. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our location library but I feel I learned far more from this post. Im quite glad to see such amazing information being shared freely out there. 21020

  3. It is actually a cool and valuable piece of details. Im glad which you shared this valuable details with us. Please maintain us informed like this. Thanks for sharing. 643049

  4. Pingback: My Homepage·

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

