THINK…and so it wilted and died

yes, like a flower, once looking so lovely, demanding of care and attention…

I’m talking about a friendship I once had…

I’ve said it before, I’m not good at gardening and I’m not good at tending to needy relationships, could it be that I hate my needy side AND I DON’T NEEDY MORE NEEDY IN MY LIFE!!

Anyway, this friendship…I stopped abruptly tending to it, because abruptly I realized I was not getting what I was giving…and this I’ve also said before: I don’t trust just anyone, but when I cross that hurdle my life becomes an open book…

This friendship seemed worthy of every single page in the book of my life

She was there from our teenage years and a bit after both my children were born…

She knew even the most intimate aspects of my newlywed life…

She was there at every birthday and the first to arrive when I hosted a get together with close friends…

She knew I got very nervous when I had to play host, that I needed for everything to be perfect and that I would not sit until everyone had everything they wanted and needed and she’d laugh at me and say: Relax, everything is perfect, they know you’ve done your best, enjoy the moment…

She’d give me good advice, very simple, uncomplicated advice and I followed it!

One day, my husband ran into her at a work related event, when he got home he said, “guess who I bumped into? remember your friend? she asked me so many questions, it felt like an interview!”

“Yes, that’s the way she is”, I said…”by the way, what’s up with her? is she dating anyone? we’ve never met her boyfriends, hhmmm!” …replied my husband

and that was the moment when I abruptly realized I KNEW NOTHING ABOUT HER…her parents address, where she worked AND THAT WAS IT…

Looking back, I should have just shrugged it off, but at that moment I felt betrayed…she knew every single aspect of my life and I knew nothing about her…of course I don’t normally ask for personal information, I let it slowly come up in the conversation, I don’t like to pry and worry about the possibility of touching on a sore or delicate subject, so I let people talk…

From experience I’ve learned that when a person is interested in you knowing them they will offer personal bits and pieces of themselves without having to ask…

Something else I’ve learned is that there are people who just don’t talk about their personal lives but DON’T GO PRYING AROUND EITHER…

PRIVATE PEOPLE RESPECT OTHER’S PRIVACY,

in fact they remind us that

SOME THINGS ARE BETTER LEFT PRIVATE

So this friendship NEEDED for me to be an open book to feed on it,

when I closed my book it wilted and died…sad but true!

On the other hand, there are my lovely lady friends: I know about them what they’ve decided to tell me and I’ve done the same, no question marks flying over our heads or setting obstacles in our relationship…they are the flowers that beautify my low maintenance garden … I thank God for them!

additional info: POOL IMAGE from http://thatnoisegallery.com/2012/05/31/have-you-heard-12/

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

