READ…CONNECTION & MEANING

Recently I can’t remember how, I found this site:

HOW SMART PEOPLE CAN GET BETTER AT EVERYTHING by Lisa Earle McLeod 

Now that’s a promising, if not, hard to believe, title, right?! Imagine getting better at EVERYTHING!! Overwhelming for the COWARDLY LION/SCAREDY CAT I am, but nevertheless worth a shot…because maybe I won’t get better at everything, I will at least get better at something and that’s more that I achieve right now…anyway, (Oh, I remember, I think someone pinned the article on PINTEREST -the new time absorber) I clicked on the link and it took me to this article…

THE MEANING OF LIFE IN TWO WORDS

click on image to go there!!

CONNECTION AND MEANING

Has it ever happened to you, that you start reading not knowing if you’ll get to the end of the article or book and suddenly it’s like the author is talking to you and you start answering back because it has struck a chord and you’ve got  something to say… (I thank God everytime that happens, because there’s so much information out there that it’s a blessing when you feel that you’ve spent your time well and learned something in the process!)

So, this spoke to me, it gave me the words I needed to identify this strange feeling I’ve had for a while now…

CONNECTION and MEANING- the two CORE EMOTIONAL NEEDS

and I realized that with my STUFF in that mini storage I left MYSELF, packed up in boxes…along with that went my work, my friends, my students, my books and everything that gave meaning to my life and were tangible proof of my accomplishments…sending me off to Mexico City very much un-armed…so I got here, no friends, no soul-nourishing activity which turned into A VOID in me…

I started looking for CONNECTIONS, and was blessed with finding the best group of women ever: my fellow painting class students, between us we AWKNOWLEDGED each other’s work giving MEANING to our time spent there…but I only had that for three hours out of the (how many hours does a week have?) many that make up a week…

I had considered not going back to work now that my return home is imminent, but after reading this article and being able to put my feelings into words, you know what?!…the highschool principal where I worked just called to offer me the chance to teach 3 different courses and you know what I answered to that? THANK YOU… thank you for needing me back, thank you for recognizing the value of my projects and wanting me to continue guiding your students, thank you for considering me an important element in your team…

TEACHING is what gives me CONNECTION and MEANING in my life…

and I’m there for as long as God gives me the strength and CREATIVITY needed

PLEASE visit the site, READ the complete article and tell me if it has struck a chord in you as well…

just a few days ago, two very special women in my life left work for personal reasons, besides giving them all of my support in their huge decision, I gave them some unsolicited advice:

DON’T GET DISCONNECTED FROM THE REST OF THE WORLD,  

believe me, BELIEVE LISA EARLE MCLEOD!!

4 responses to “READ…CONNECTION & MEANING

  1. I am walking out the door to make a connection, and took a few minutes extra to read. This struck a chord!! Thank you for the encouragement and the support, and for the valuable link. Let’s get better at everything, oh yes! Besos.

  2. That is a brilliant bit of observation – Connection and Meaning. That’s it right there. Good find and thanks for sharing. I love stuff like that. 🙂

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

