ACT…PAPER FILIGREE for the Lady of Quality in me!!

Thank you God…for all the wonderful things you give me everyday but specially for the fact that I’m ONLY 40 years old because I’ve still got sooooo much I want to learn and QUILLING is one of them!

Quilling a lovely art form also known as PAPER FILIGREE

(I kind of like this name better, it makes it sound like an ancient craft made exclusively by the most dedicated european artisans with incredibly skilled hands and an impeccable sense of composition and foresight, DISCLAIMER: this is my very personal impression of the term!!)

…any way, Quilling or paper filigree is an art form that involves the use of strips of paper that are rolled, shaped, and glued together to create decorative designs. The paper is wound around a quill to create a basic coil shape. The paper is then glued at the tip and these shaped coils are arranged to form flowers, leaves, and various ornamental patterns similar to ironwork.

and as I keep reading…it turns out that

During the RenaissanceFrench and Italian nuns and monks used quilling to decorate book covers and religious items. The paper most commonly used was strips of paper trimmed from the gilded edges of books. These gilded paper strips were then rolled to create the quilled shapes. Quilling often imitated the original ironwork of the day.

In the 18th century, quilling became popular in Europe where gentle ladies of quality (“ladies of leisure”) practiced the art. It was one of the few things ladies could do that was thought not too taxing for their minds or gentle dispositions.

AAAAAAHHHHH, I love this definiton and I AM A LADY OF QUALITY with a gentle disposition (NOT), like Mary Poppins and have no need for my mind to be further taxed…take me back in time WIKIPEDIA!!

So this is the perfect new adventure for me!!

but less chit-chat and more EYE CANDY…

THE HOUSE OF LIFEA WINDY DAYAN APPLE A DAY…

The above examples of PAPER FILIGREE come from http://www.papergraphic.co.uk/

       

TYPOGRAPHY &  2012 made by Sabeena Karnik

You can delight in her work by visiting http://www.behance.net/sabeenu/frame

One more thing on my list of MUST TRY IT BEFORE I HAVE GRANDCHILDREN (jajajaa!)

There’s just one thing (excuses, excuses, YA NI CHINGO) I’ve got this kind of rheumatoid arthritis thing on my right hand from when I was in Architecture school…I’d do the dumbest thing (now I know): when I felt tired of sitting at my drafting table I’d get up and wash some dishes or take a bath or water my mom’s plants, anyway I’D GET MY HANDS WET which, as you well know, is the worse thing one can do when you’ve been working with your hands on something that requires precision (as does drafting or putting together a scale model) …just today, I was mixing some paint for my new project at painting class and the numbness started when I had mixed about 6 oil combinations…it’s quite exhasperating, BUT I BROUGHT IT ON MYSELF… now I know that I have to stop for a bit and just TWIDDLE MY THUMBS till my hand temperature goes back to normal and my muscles cool down so that I can continue…

BUT I AM A LADY OF QUALITY AND I WILL LEARN PAPER FILIGREE

lovely, lovely with a cup of tea and your pinky finger up in the air

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

