REACT … recovering from a TWITTERING life

Ok, if you had to describe TWITTER what would you say?

I was thinking about it the other day and this is what I came up with: TWITTER is a continuous flow of MICRODOSES of information on topics that you choose… pick your source and start receiving them…more or less, right?!

You’ll agree that it’s like channel surfing: let’s see what’s on (you think as you turn on the TV)…ok, hmm! good, but maybe there’s something better on this channel…and so on…bits of info, one ofter the other.

On twitter, if it has a link that interests you, you click on it- browse and immediately go back to the cascade…not fully immersing yourself in anything but the flow of bits, the flow of bits…and your trapped wanting more but not compromising with any one source because maybe, just maybe the next might have something even better…

So, the other day, feeling absolutely tired of having been running around the apartment “cleaning up” (skeptical tone please!) I looked around me to find myself in the same mess I started with early that morning…Why? if I’ve been cleaning and picking up and organizing and I’ve got some backpain to prove it…why is this still a mess?

This had been happening for a while now, but that day I just felt overwhelmed (that’s ONE of my words since I had my second child OVERWHELMED) by my obligations…

I sat myself down, took my face in my hands (you know that out-of -body thing where you make yourself accept reality) looked myself straight in the eyes and said: THINK!, YOU ARE MAKING YOURSELF BELIEVE YOU ARE DOING SOMETHING WHEN IN FACT YOU HAVEN’T DONE ANYTHING BUT MOVE THINGS AROUND, YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED ANYTHING YOU’VE STARTED THIS MORNING…

ME talking about ME

THE ONLY THING YOU START AND FINISH IS THE DAY’S POST… N O T H I N G   E L S E!!

You’re gonna have to re-think your strategy, my dear!! ’cause this ain’t workin’…said the very straight-faced ME to the very pitiful ME

And so I did…I re-thought my housechore schedule starting by INCLUDING REAL PICK-UP/CLEAN-UP/HANG-UP/STRAIGHTEN-UP CHORES in my MORNING SCHEDULE…

So now, and believe me this hasn’t been easy, I need to be a real witch with my TWEETING/TWITTERING SELF,  repeating  constantly to myself FINISH IT, DON’T LEAVE IT LIKE THAT, YOU’RE NOT DONE HERE…because I’ve realized that leaving things halfway done looks much messier than not having done anything at all…

As I was saying, SO NOW, as soon as my children and husband leave I make all the beds, fold the pjs, hang up any clothes lying around, leave the bedrooms tidy, before going into the kitchen to pick up the mess left from breakfast, from there, if I’ve got to go out, I hurry up and get ready…

NOTICE THAT I HAVEN’T TURNED ON MY COMPUTER AND IT’S BEEN A HELL OF A STRUGGLE NOT TO GO DO IT…

and if I don’t have to go out, but do have homework from my painting class I prepare my stuff and then I turn on the computer next to my desk BUT PROMISE MYSELF THAT I’M GOING TO DO HOMEWORK!!!

It’s been hard! Not finding true interest in anything, going from one thing to another and not really being there, FOOLING MYSELF!!

And the backpain, WELL THAT WAS JUST PLAIN AND AWFUL GUILT of knowing that I was doing nothing but needing some way to me the victim of THIS OVERWHELMING LIFE…

 

 

3 responses to “REACT … recovering from a TWITTERING life

  1. Pingback: Holidays In Maldives 2011·

  2. Ahhhh…Very deep confession here my dear. But the tug of the computer is not easy to leave behind, so any day you do it is a good day. There’s so much to read right now, it’s a challenge to keep up with the tweets, posts and updates. I resorted to using the computer timer and allowing myself 15 minutes (at the office) and 30 minutes at home (using the kitchen timer, which is much more loud and definitive) to browse. But it’s never enough.

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

