THINK…a LOVE~HATE relationship with MYSELF

Have I told you this story? About an adorable nun from tha catholic school I attended as a child.

Well, this happened in second grade, my sister-friend won’t let me lie…

This adorable (I can’t say it enough) nun used to call me Miss Perfect…jajajjaa…because I wouldn’t settle for anything less from myself than PERFECTION

Can you imagine what idea of PERFECTION an 8 year old girl could have…I don’t!!

I do remember feeling sick to my stomache whenever I didn’t do PERFECTLY in SPELLING or if I misread when READING aloud, because I always participated when we were asked to read to the class…

My ART projects were my delight and my sister-friend’s worse nightmare (so she has just admitted!) because she wanted to do them like I did, and she couldn’t…POOR, SWEET THING (now I wish I could be as good a photographer as she is)…anyway my art had to be PERFECT or Miss Perfect would have a fit…

It must’ve been stressful having me as a student with all these hangups…

And one fabulous day (fabulous now that I look back, but awful if I am true to my feelings back then), the ADORABLE NUN came to my desk in a moment of UNATTAINED PERFECTION with a sideorder of stomachache and said to me in a loving, direct, sincere, absolute, definite TONE: Alexandra, if you continue being this way YOU’LL NEVER GET MARRIED!!!

LOL!! this happened 31 years ago and I remember it pefectly…

Of course, as you know, I am married and I got over my obsession with perfection…jajajaaa!!

Hey, the first isn’t a result of the second, nor did I forget about the second as a means to get the first…the second happened almost 10 years before the first…SO ONE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE OTHER BUT IT DID HELP.

And it has helped in many ways…

Because we can be our own worse enemy…

tweet from mexican inspirational writer/speaker GABY VARGAS on 25/11/2011

We can live a LOVE~HATE relationship with ourselves…

We subject ourselves to CONDITIONAL LOVE…

I’m glad I changed my ways for myself but specially for the people I share my life with: my husband and children…It’s one thing to expect unlimited perfection from oneself but to expect it from others is just plain UNFAIR

However, my selfexpectations  of perfection have now been very limited to the things that depend solely on me and even there I can be a bit forgiving…

Not even my art is subjected to any kind of standards of perfection…not any more, besides I don’t have the stomache to put up with the stress of PERFECTION

by ME

There’s one thing that should be PERFECT in your/my life:

we should aspire to be PERFECTLY AT PEACE WITH OURSELVES which in return should give us a feeling of Perfect Peace with the object of our Faith…

BTW, a got a taste of my own medicine…a perfectionist daughter!! Talk about learning my lesson and having to teach it too!!

5 responses to “THINK…a LOVE~HATE relationship with MYSELF

  1. Pingback: windows 8·

  2. It’s crazy when someone says something seemingly in passing to you, yet it resonates in such a way with you and therefore has a great impact on your life that you never forget. One of the many times I contemplated going back to my ex-husband someone told me: “Mismo infierno, mismo Diablo?” (Same devil, same hell?)…needles to say it struck a chord, and he remained an X…

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

