REACT…CATALYST

I’m a very graphic/visual person so I love words that have an interesting look to them, a multifunctional meaning, as well as when they evoke an image or feeling.

As you, I have several FAVORITE WORDS. As you, I use them for passwords to anything that calls for one. Because these are my go-to, easy-to-remember, image-evoking words. So I can’t talk about them all. But today I added a new one to my list: CATALYST

This word came to mind – CATALYST – trying to describe the form of interaction that has surfaced between colors. The use of both muted (or earth tones) and bright colors (jewel tones) in one same design be it in interior, graphic or fashion. When before, they were supposedly incompatible. From different families. But nowadays it seems that a Romeo and Juliet situation has been happening. You know, families hate each other but the children want to be together. So, any way…

I wasn’t sure this was the word I needed, so I looked up the definition…and you know what?!

I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE WORD IN ALL ITS SENSES

I fell in love with the form of it, the GRAPHISM (“expression of thought in material symbols”)…

A WORD THAT GRAPHICALLY TO ME REPRESENTS LIFE'S UPS & DOWNS, LIFE'S SPORADIC PAUSES, DECISIVE MOMENTS AND SUDDEN CURVES

and the definition…

cat·a·lyst noun

1.

Chemistry . a substance that causes or accelerates a chemical reaction without itself being affected.
2.

something that causes activity between two or more persons or forces without itself being affected.
3.

a person or thing that precipitates an event or change.
4.

a person whose talk, enthusiasm, or energy causes others to be more friendly, enthusiastic, or energetic.
TO CAUSE CHANGE BUT STAY, YOURSELF- UNCHANGED!
so it went from trying to describe the effect colors have on each other staying true to their original form to discovering it as a SUPER COOL almost HEROICAL (sorry, I’m just excited and want to watch it in action) word to describe a person…
CATALYST
3 responses to “REACT…CATALYST

  1. Pingback: http://www.copingmechanisms.org·

  2. nice word huh?! you know, I’m a nerd at heart trying to learn something new every day, so I’ll keep looking for brain food, for example: paradigm…you see it everywhere, but I’ve never been able to use it, so I think that’s next!! xoxo

  3. This is one of those words I never knew the exact definition of. After this post, I think I shall incorporate into my vocabulary! Thanks for posting… And being a catalyst for change!

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

