THINK ABOUT…Dress to Impress…Impress WHO?

Every day, after receiving my youngest, I have to wait in my children’s school for about half an hour for the eldest to be let out.

During that time I’ve had the chance to observe all the women that come and go, either picking up their own children or teachers leaving their classrooms. And the constant question that comes to mind is:  Who do they dress for? Who are they trying to impress? How can they afford the whole designer outfit? with the economy and the insane exchange rate (for us to buy 1 dollar we need to pay 13 pesos, so you do the math)!

Of course I’ve never been one to go head to toe designer outfit, maybe an accessory, or a handbag, even a pair of shoes, but not the whole shabang! I mean, let’s get some more mileage out of the stuff combining those designer elements with others low-key. Maybe I have no idea what I’m talking about. And I do understand that this is MEXICO CITY one of the most populated metropolis in the world, one can’t go around town in sweatpants, much less to pick up your children from school. But aside from tha whole social etiquette,

WHO DO WOMEN DRESS FOR?

I was talking to my husband about this (of course, if you read between the lines I was hinting for a designer bag). About how I feel these women at achool are very much overdressed. High heels galore, salon hair, huge handbags, THE WORKS…this is the dress code from mothers to teachers (on a teacher’s salary, how can they afford it?) And I asked my husband what he thought about it, who were these women dressing for? who were they trying to impress? and he blatantly answered: THEY DRESS TO COMPETE AGAINST AND TO IMPRESS EACH OTHER…WOMEN DRESS FOR THE WOMEN THEY’LL BUMP INTO DURING THE DAY!

I couldn’t answer back, because this was something I had been fighting in my mind: A DRESS COMPETITION. And the prize? R E S P E C T, please! it can’t be!

I started thinking about it and I came to the conclusion that motivation changes with age.

When you’re a child, you want your parents to approve of your attire.

When you’re a teenager and your parents approve you run to your room, slam the door AND IMMEDIATELY CHANGE, the approval you seek is that of your friends, the more you look alike the better.

When you’re a young adult the nod comes from a magazine or your significant other.

So I would’ve thought that by now that we’re full fledged ADULTS we would dress for aur body type, for the occassion, and maybe even sometimes for your spouse, BUT MOST OF THE TIME FOR YOU!!!!

So, I did some surfing…

I liked the last comment!! BUT, at school, you’ll rarely find a dad picking up his children and the only other men there are chauffeurs, not trying to be demeaning but THOSE LADIES AREN’T TRYING TO GET THE CHAUFFEUR’S ATTENTION 😉 jajajajaa….and honestly, unless you’re real good friends a woman won’t openly compliment you, well at least not these women!

So let’s see, what else I can find…

I like Isabel Toledo’s take on husband’s part in this LOOKING FOR HIS EXPRESSION NOT HIS APPROVAL…this is a good answer!!

As I see it, after reading around, each one has her own motivation for dressing up or down. I get the feeling that the women I see everyday are dressing to make their social and economic situation clear because they know they won’t get any compliments nor are they looking them, so aside from that, they are dressing for themselves.

DESIGNER FASHION IS THEIR SILENT STATEMENT OF POWER.

Who do you dress for?

I DRESS FOR COMFORT!

I DRESS WITHIN OUR BUDGET!

My clothes won’t be what attracts other people’s attention…

I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE A DESIGNER OUTFIT BUT THE OCCASSION HASN’T PRESENTED ITSELF, so I’m calmly waiting my chance while closely watching these women dress for the long awaited event of PICKING UP THEIR CHILDREN FROM SCHOOL!

14 responses to “THINK ABOUT…Dress to Impress…Impress WHO?

  1. Pingback: clear motorcycle glasses·

  2. Hello there I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  3. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and terrific design.

  4. I’m so glad my blog has had just what you’re looking for (and a bit more I HOPE!!) It would be nice to read your view…let me see into adding a widget for guest posts!! give a few days to get that checked out…thanks for your kinfd words and your interest

  5. I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

  6. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  7. Hola!! sorry for such a late reply, your comment got trapped in the spam filter along with others. Gracias, thanks for your comment, ‘AWESOME POSTING’ so nice of you to say, hope you visit again!

  8. I put on what ever fits me that day, having special problems on the Aunt Flo days!! hahaha

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

