ACT… The Princess Nerd

From my apartment I can see three places I’ve visited to nurish my comatosed brain: The Alliance Francaise, to learn French; The Centro Cultural Helenico, to learn oil painting; and the Carrillo-Gil Museum, to write an essay about the emotions brush strokes convey. And I’m just getting started on my cultural experience in this city.

You see, my mom had a dream for me, she wanted me to grow up to become a princess-nerd, not a nerdy princess, but a PRINCESS NERD. That is, a very well-mannered, well-dressed, extremely well-educated lady with lots of money and the world at my feet, these last two give me the royal rank of princess. I don’t know if because of this dream or because I have this innate tendency, I am constantly searching for knowledge, or as I call it- BRAIN FOOD. I don’t know when I’ll use the information I collect but I love knowing that it’s in there.

A very intelligent, well-mannered, well- read man-an Architect-, once questioned my motives for accumulating information. I never thought it was something that could be debated. Why would anyone question my reasons for wanting to be cultured? He asked me, “What are you going to do with that information?” “Are you going to teach a class?” “Are you going to write a book?” “What use are going to give all that you’ve got stored in there?”, he asked as he tapped my half full/half empty head. That really baffled me plus the tapping didn’t help me to find an answer. “Well”, I said, trying to be funny and get out of the uncomfortable situation this had turned into,”I’m going to stand at a corner, I’ll change corners ever two or three days, with a sign that’ll read ASK ME ANYTHING, P L E A S E!!” He didn’t laugh, he just stared at me and said, ”That is a waste of time and a very selfish use of valuable information, you should think about that!” He turned, walked away and left me there… I stood there for a while. He had just toppled over my card castle. I had no idea what foot to use to take my next step, he shook me up, he made me feel insecure about my life dream, yeah because it now was MY DREAM  to become a princess nerd. Well, I assured myself, this is something new to investigate and to figure out, no problem! Because I’m so in love with learning that being selfish will not discourage me from doing it. And maybe the PRINCESS part won’t come true, but I can get the brainy-nerd part. With the right attitude I can manage to feel I’ve got the world at my feet.

To me, the accumulation of information has served as reassurance, as an alibi to every thought expressed. I speak of what I know, and who ever I’m having a conversation with can feel at ease that I’m not making things up as I go along, if needed I can cite my sources, if that isn’t being a NERD, then I don’t know what is.

So at every stop I’ve made to grab a little BRAIN FOOD I’ve discovered what I am doing with all I’ve got stored up there: I’m not achieving perfection, çause that’s impossible plus it would eventually become boring, I’M MAKING MYSELF PROUD. Yeah, it’s selfish, it’s for my own benefit, but how many people can really say they are proud of themselves? I CAN. I EMBRACE THE NERD IN ME!!

23 responses to “ACT… The Princess Nerd

  1. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thank you

  2. Wow, thanks for telling me, apparently this theme is very mobile-friendly, another reason why I’m glad I chose it (which had nothing to but with anything else but achieving the look I wanted for my blog! who knew!!)…Thanks for the compliment! but above all thanks for taking time to leave a COMMENT that’s what feeds the blog…come back soon

  3. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

  4. Well, I’m no expert but I am very happy with how my blog has taken form! The most important thing to be very clear about is YOUR TOPIC (later you can branch out) but have your specific focus and topic very clear so that you can come out sounding/reading clear to your visitors…then imagine how you want your blog to LOOK, the image you want to convey to your readers (something I’ve been lucky with is that my blog is very mobile friendly, some aren’t…but it was luck, I didn’t even think about it)…there’s a saying in spanish DE LA VISTA NACE EL AMOR or LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT, do some probing on the blogs you follow find out what trapped you about them…FONDO o FORMA … that is what is said or how it looks..hopefully a combination of both…the rest comes slowly…hope this helped, happy blogging

  5. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

  6. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  7. Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

  8. Hi…a reader commented that he/she had just bought an iphone and was reading this blog on it, so maybe it could be the theme you’re using for your blog…apparently this theme is quite mobile friendly…hope this helps!!

  9. Hi! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  10. Hi! had no idea I was listed in yahoo news…HHMMM!! would you be so kind and send me a link to where you found me…this is an absolute suprise!! now that you’ve found the way to my blog, hope you visit again and COMMENT!! thank you

  11. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  12. Pingback: REACT… Thanks GOOGLE for another blast from the past… « ACT. REACT. or JUST THINK ABOUT IT!·

  13. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and excellent design.

  14. Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  15. I am proud of you!!! hope you can rub off a little of that nerd in you to your sobrinos.

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

