ACT… vacation inspiration

People, thanks to all who stopped by A.R.T. in my absence…

The professional, experienced, serious blogger would’ve left at least a couple of posts ready and  scheduled with the handy calendar tool to be automatically online while on vacation…

So you can safely assume and without hurting my feelings that I am neither plus the fact that I left two days after a moving van came and took ALL my things back to my hometown where they await my arrival…

Anyway, we are back…

My family and I had a wonderful beach vacation in SUNNY and HUMID Cancun (in the state of Quintana Roo, here in México)

It was an inspirational and transformational vacation…

well, not THAT transformational, we just came back looking like those vanilla ice cream popsicles dipped in chocolate…

yeah, that’s me and those were the organs I had planned to donate but you just bit them…yummy @ davidlebovitz.com

and that’s as far the the transformation part goes…

However, the inspiration part was  a mix of reassurance/ discovery/ utter amazement and plenty of delicious variations to the regular CEVICHE…

REASSURANCE: my husband and I had not travelled much with our children. From the time they were born up to this summer vacation, we’d taken a two or three day trip, Disneyland in Anaheim being the furthest and most adventurous (wimps- that’s why!).  My husband and I are on the same wave lenght on this topic, we cannot take, nor do we have the patience or trunk space needed to travel with babies so we just enjoyed STAY-cations and were very criticized for this. But now, thank the Lord, my children have grown, can carry their own suitcase, feed themselves and are willing to WALK.  That marked the moment for a real and FIRST true family beach vacation.

PIC BY ME!

As I sat eating and enjoying the breakfast buffet and looking out the restaurant’s window admiring the turquoise sea just beyond I’d also sneak a very imprudent peek over at the table with the screaming baby or the tantrum consumed toddler and then quickly turn back and contemplate my two children (hurridly) having their breakfast and admiring the turquoise sea that awaited them…

Here is where the REASSURANCE kicked in… I dismissed any guilt I had carried for not showing my babies the world and felt really glad that they weren’t permanently marked or hated our guts, instead they just asked, “did we ever do that in public mom?” “no you didn’t sweetheart because we were never out in public until you learned how to behave, so don’t make us go back into seclusion please!” I answered smiling peacefully at them…

DISCOVERY…I discovered several things that really bother me:

1) people talking or referring to someone who’s serving them in an impolite, I’m- superior- and-don’t-you-forget-it kind of way…aaaaarrrrggghhhh I had to really control myself from doing something stupid like, like…I don’t know, something

2) I’m torn between it bothering me or maybe envy… OVER-EXPOSED CELLULITE…damn! and I say envy, because I’ve got my share and am not willing to share it with the world… for goodness sake women, string bikini showing off your cottage cheese filled buttocks…scary stuff people unless you are a cheese lover and enjoy it in whatever presentation there is…

3) OK, the deodorant that works just fine for you in your everyday, hectic life WILL NOT,  I repeat, WILL NOT WORK AT A VERY HUMID, TEMP IN THE 90s BEACH VACATION… wheeewww

4) my lungs have shrunk! (I have no idea if it’s biologically possible but that’s what it felt like) …you know how they (the intelligent scientist people) say that we use only 10% of our brain (I know, it’s a myth but it works with the point I’m trying  to make) well I suspect that we only use 10% of our lung’s breathing capacity in our daily lives…I do know that the more anxious, stressed, overwhelmed we feel, the shorter our breaths are, but can it become our way of breathing? constant short, just-so-you-don’t-die breaths? I got in the pool, got a good breath of air (so I thought) and dove in trying to touch the floor…OMG, I hadn’t been that scared in a while…I ran out of air in 3 seconds, I felt the surface was miles above me…awful…when I came up I could not believe it, I used to swim, I was in a few competitions even, isn’t it like riding a bicycle? you never forget it, you can forever dive deep, swim far, hold your breath… my lungs have shrunk :(

5) at my tender age of 40, I realized  I SHOULD HAVE STARTED WEARING SUNBLOCK LIKE 15 YEARS AGO… by our second day there huge freckels SUNSPOTS started appearing all over my face. My husband and children looked at me and asked if I had smeared some kind of chocolate syrup on my face and why hadn’t I shared! aaaaaaaaa, UNDO, UNDO…well, I can’t undo, now I have to go see a dermatologist or risk becoming a dalmatian…

UTTER AMAZEMENT…was brought to us courtesy of wonderful, detail-oriented MOTHER NATURE and she really out did herself with Cancun…

PIC BY ME!

even at 15ft above ocean floor level the sea was so transparent turquoise that we could see the talc-like sand…

we could WALK all the way up to and go beyond where the waves crashed and still not be covered by the water…

my daughter considering ARCHEOLOGY as her future career! why not?

the archeological sites where our ancestors would have their own vacations by the sea…BEAUTIFUL

Oh and the variations for the common CEVICHE…

the common being your favorite white fish/ shrimp/ scallops/ lobster/ crab meat + tons of lemon juice, diced tomato, onion, jalapeno pepper, cilatro, salt and pepper to taste…

and the variations:

your favorite fish or seafood + diced red and green bell pepper, mango, cuccumber, cilantro, red onion, lime, and salt&pepper

or

your favorite fish or seafood + jícama (a fruit that has the texture of raw potato o watercress, with a skin that resembles what a hairless coconut would look like and very light, crunchy, yummy flavor specially when sprinkled with powdered chili and lemon), cuccumber, red onion, lot of lime, cilantro, salt&pepper

OMG, my children had never enjoyed seafood so much

I ALMOST FORGOT…

the INEXPLICABLE part of our vacation to the beach…on Friday or Saturday (can’t remember, in fact can’t remember much, I’m glad I took pictures and I’ve got this…to remind me I was there!) when we went back to our room to take a bath and get ready for an early dinner I found this on my shoulder, I imagined I had just scratched an itch and with the fresh (read:sore, what was i thinking, why do we do this to our skin, we’re not in the eighties- which btw I think was the last time a sunbathed) tan it would take a while to disappear…and well it has taken well over 5 days to disappear… I can’t recall having sat/ walked/ stood with my back to the sun and my hand on my shoulder for such a long time as to have it imprinted like that…very weird and funny…it’s a very lame, temporary reverse tattoo, just the way I like my non-existant tattoos!!

my lame, temporary reverse tattoo

I do hope you are having a relaxing, revitalizing, sunblock drenched, safe vacation…if not, please hurry and take one, you deserve it!!

hugs people

2 responses to “ACT… vacation inspiration

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

