THINK… about the word BESPOKE

BESPOKE…

when I first came across this word it was as a caption under a very organic (in shape) vase…and it trapped me…

BESPOKE…

a stared at the vase trying to understand what bespoke meant and how it described this piece of ceramics for which I could find many other adjectives and was now presented with a new word that I had never seen and consequently never used…

I automatically gave it a ROMANTIC, ETHEREAL significance (in part because of the whimsical, willful and capricieux shape and because of my complete ignorance of the term!)

Though the nerdy side of me whispered in my ear: LOOK IT UP!! and so now, this is the true meaning of …

Bespoke English pronunciation: /biˈspoʊk/  is a term employed in a variety of applications to mean

an item custom-made to the buyer’s specification (personalized or tailored).

While applied to many items now, from computer software to luxury car appointments, the term historically was applied only to tailored clothingshirts, and other parts of men’s apparel involving measurement and fitting.

More generally,

bespoke 

describes a high degree of”customization”,

and involvement of the end-user, in the production of the goods.

Now, I don’t need to negate the term form its romantic, ethereal feel because if I am in that mind frame when I have, let’s say, my stationary made, then it will come out that way because it will be made to my specifications and likes…

Here are some images…love the concept / enchanted by the word!

Be part of a creative process and get some BESPOKE in your life!!

LINKS:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bespoke

http://www.reikokaneko.co.uk/

http://www.bespokeinnovations.com/

http://www.bespoke.com.es/

http://us.burberry.com/store/bespoke/

http://bespokezine.com

http://www.bespokecyclessf.com/

http://bespokepress.com.au/

http://bespokecuisine.com/

http://www.anyahindmarch.com/BespokePage/landing

8 responses to “THINK… about the word BESPOKE

  1. Fistol es el alfiler gigante que se usaban en las faldas antes, o el ganchito para las corbatas….A mi tambien me gusta decir “fistol fistol fistol…” : )

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • Hi! In the widgets section of wordpress is where i found the button for my blog though i notice that your blog is on blogspot, sadly i have no experience in that platform…wish i could help you out. If i find anything i’ll let you know! I’m very happy that you enjoy reading my blog and appreciate the feedback, hope to read from you soon!

  3. Howdy! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I
    needed to ask. Does operating a well-established website like yours require a large
    amount of work? I’m brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    • Thanks for considering my opinion! And i think it requires the amount of time that youbwant to invest in it. I am a very visual person and love change so every 3 months aproximately a change theme and with it do any addaptations the theme might rquire ( new header, for instance). But not everyone does that, the themes offered in wordpress are very well designed for you to just upload and write and it takes care of everything else. You can establish the frequency of your posts, i post whenever i’m inspired and have the time others post on specific days of the week…this only you decide. I do recommend to have a defined style and subject so that people with same interests can locate and follow your blog. Also, don’t expect much at the beginning and use facebook and twitter to let people know that you’ve got a new post up. Hope this helps! Good luck

  4. Whenever I find a word I like, I also use it as much as possible. “Bespoke” is a very elegant word that reminds me of Jane Austen novels. Very nice references. (También me acuerdo de la vecina de mi abuelita, que decia que cuando escuchó la palabra “fistol” de niña le encantó tanto que todo el dia se la pasaba repitiendo “fistol fistol fistol”… )

    • Que cosas no? Como te explicas que una palabra toque tan profundo…me hizo imaginarme tantas posibles definiciones todas justamente en lo elegante…y hasta cierto punto si es una referencia de lo elegante y refinado pues viene del trabajo a medida de los sastres de aquellos tiempos…fistol, fistol, fistol…que es fistol? Read you soon sister!

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

