REACT…to being back

in-flight snack...mini POP TARTS

 

Our visit back  home ended yesterday…today we woke up back in the concrete jungle (with no garden for my pet to do her thing…she’s a few steps from learning to use the toilet!)

Oh my, how difficult/complicated it is to be back…we had just gotten used to this life after Christmas vacations when suddenly we’re back there, in that sad state of missing home, family and friends…

I don’t mean to be negative about this, but it’s a fact…today my children woke up with this spaced out look on their faces, the look of resignation…

 

YESTERDAY, again, with tears in their eyes they looked at me and said (already knowing, in the back of their minds, what my response would be, although hopeful of hearing me say something different)  please mom, can we stay?!

Of course we couldn’t, we had to get on the plane and come back to Mexico City…

I reminded them of school and how my youngest has a graduation (from preschool) coming up, and my oldest has to finish 5th grade…

I reminded them of Dad, being here and anxiously waiting for us…

I reminded them of their toys and books…

but in their hearts nothing pulled as strong as being home, having a garden to run around in and play hide-and-seek, getting in bed with my mom and watching her strange spanish tv shows and commenting on what is otherwise considered (by me) not appropriate for them to watch (but I’m not the one who is going to go against a grandmother’s mission in life: contradict the parents’ wishes and ideas on child rearing)

As I look at them now (drinking their lattes, yes my children drink coffee in the morning-or else- and after lunch-or else…and any other time a starbuck’s crosses our paths or they smell coffee in the air) I think back: did I ever have to comply with such a hard task? to abide by my parents’ decision even when it hurt all the way to the bones?

I THINK I NEVER DID, because not even their divorce hurt me as much as seeing them fight, so that decision was never hard to take or a burden on me, at 10 I understood the need for them to be apart and I can’t remember having cried over it or having asked my mom to reconsider…

I always saw it as something that needed to be done, but now, I see my children’s sad faces, I know they’ll soon get back in the daily routine and make it work and I HOPE this brings them some kind of knowledge and growth for their adult lives, I haven’t sat down and thought much about it but I know it can’t be bad because we are doing it with FAMILY in mind…

anyway, I’ve got an empty fridge to fill, lots of laundry to do, uniforms to prep

AND MY HYDRANGEAS, LAVANDER, ROSEMARY AND MINT TO TRY TO BRING BACK TO LIFE…

now that made ME want to cry, seeing how my absence killed my aromatic, lovely, mini 4th floor garden

my son (he's the little one) in training @ LOWE'S

on a brighter side:

I did leave my house’s makeover in progress

(I know I should be there supervising, but well I’m not, so I’m hoping for the best and the rest I’ll gladly tackle when I’m back there in August)…

when I left…

floors were covered in plastic to protect from the new paint going up,

roller shades and shutters ordered,

new floor and wall tiles for the bathrooms about to be delivered,

a lovely pedestal sink for my guest bathroom bought and carpets removed…

wuuhuu!!

I finally bought 2 of the zillions of books I’ve been wanting to read…

and I’ve got 4 paintings pending: two glazing (which you’ve already met) and two abstracts (large format)…

so my days in this countdown to going home are going to be quite busy (not to mention the packing but I’LL CROSS THAT BRIDGE WHEN I COME TO IT)

hugs people

 

 

18 responses to “REACT…to being back

  1. Greetings thanks for wonderful post i was searching for this issue final 2 times. I’ll search for next precious posts. Have fun admin.

FEED THE BLOG...say something nice!

